Fever Book Review

Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but they’re still in danger. Outside, they find a world even more disquieting than the one they left behind.

-Amazon Book Description

Fever by Lauren DeStefano

If you recall, a long time ago I wrote a review of a book called Wither. I enjoyed it and was really excited to see where the series was going. The sequel picked up right where Wither left of; Rhine and Gabe have just escaped from the mansion. So what do they do next? Life on the run isn’t easy and somehow Rhine and Gabe find themselves in a prostitution camp where they are a two-person cabaret act (an elegant one, we are told) to entertain wealthier guests. The camp is glitzy but Rhine and Gabe aren’t fooled. There are drugs, extortion; their chances of escaping are slim. Yet after spending hardly anytime there, they manage to do just that.

Right around here is where I got disappointed in the book.

First, I realized the writing was actually terribly average. For some reason, I had placed the book down. When I picked it up, I thought, “Wow. I could’ve picked up any old book; there is nothing unique about this one.” Which may be harsh, but it’s true.

The plot was the allure last time; it was secretive and drew you in. But here? The secret’s out. There was nothing to hold you. Rhine and Gabe argued all the time and they both quickly lost their charm. Rhine— she kept thinking about Linden. Didn’t she run away from him because she didn’t like what being his wife entailed? And she has Gabe! The last book was not  love triangle, so I couldn’t understand why this one was trying to be one.

Rhine and Gabe traverse Rhine’s old home after escaping the camp. They don’t accomplish much. In fact, none of my questions were answered. Rhine becomes obsessed with finding her brother and that’s where the book ends. With her on the hunt. Honestly, I feel like it was totally unnecessary, this whole book. I have zero interest in finishing this series and if one of you eventually does, let me know how it ended.

Ri’s Rating:

Q.5/QQQQQ
1.5/5


0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

