A Few Average Books Explored At Once

And by average, I mean terrible. I’ve read quite a few books recently, but these are the few that stood out to me outstandingly bad. I don’t really like the idea of doing multiple reviews at once, but I didn’t want to get redundant.

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

This is a book about two kids, Josh and Emma, that get their paws on Facebook before it was invented– before the internet as we know it today was even developed. Emma, who is a little insecure, logs on and discovers her future self and finds that she doesn’t like it. With the knowledge of who she is going to be, she makes decisions that change her future each time she logs on to Facebook. This leads Josh to question whether or not it is okay to change their futures– especially because he likes the one he saw on Facebook. Josh and Emma butt heads of this idea, and eventually resolve the story in a very obvious way.

Like honestly, so much of this book was predictable that I was stunned by how average it was. A huge contributor to that ambiance of ordinary was the writing style, which was blunt and childish. It almost seemed like it was written for younger kids, but some of the content would be to differ. The characters were also dry and stereotypical in a painfully obvious way.

One of the fun parts of this book was reminiscing in all the 90’s glory, because growing in the 90’s was great. Great. Really. It was spoiled a little when the characters kept dropping names and brands– overkill is the word, yeah?

In the end, I would say don’t bother. This book was nothing profound. And while the idea was unique– would you change your future if you knew you could?– the execution doesn’t make it worth your time.

2/5

Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick

The first book in this series I really enjoyed. The second one, I never reviewed because I didn’t think it was worth it. This one, in a nutshell, sucked. What happens is that Nora, our leading lady, wakes up with no memory what has happened to her in the past few months. That means that basically everything that has happened in the previous two books has been forgotten. And while there is a nefarious sub plot going on to hurt her or something, I couldn’t get past the fact that I basically had to relive the mystery of discovering Patch and his world because Nora had forgotten it all.

What is the point of this book? It hardly advanced the plot. It wasn’t fantastically written. And worst of all, it isn’t the last book the series. I thought the story could’ve ended nicely with the first book. Then the sequel came out and I was like, okay, three books isn’t too bad. But apparently this is more than a trilogy can handle and the story doesn’t end here.

Hold up everyone, we’ve got a bad ass over here.

No really, though. Don’t bother with this book. Don’t even engage in the series. It wasn’t worth following the first one just to end up here. I honestly tossed the book across the room when I was done. I was that disappointed.

2/5

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Of all the books, this one was the worst. And the weirdest thing is, I’ve read this author before. And I didn’t hate her. So what happened here?

Honestly, I don’t know. This story was about a girl who goes to a school in London and finds herself caught up in a mystery about some guy performing Jack the Ripper-esque murders. I was expecting a sassy heroine, intrigue, excitement, etc.

But no. This book was so poorly written I was offended. Do publishers really think so little of me? It was filled with clichés and the writing seemed like it was aimed at a 10-year-old. I have bruises where the hammer hit me on the head too hard. Seriously, guys.

Don’t read this book.

 0.5/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

