The Son of Neptune Book Review

He threw one arm around Hazel and one arm around Frank.

“Come on,” he said. “Let me introduce you to my other family.”

pg 513

Sequel to The Lost Hero

The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

Guys. Guys. Can we take a moment to admire that cover and the sweet character that it features?

Yes, that is indeed Percy Jackson. If you recall from my review of the previous book in this series, I wasn’t feeling it. But just having Percy around was made this one much, much better. That’s because, if you remember, I came to see that I was basically reading this series for Percy. Besides from being hilarious and genuinely an interesting person to read about, I have a special place in my heart for ol’ Percy. But I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s get a summary…

The last book left us with the new gang from the Greek Camp Half-Blood sailing off to find Percy. This one picks up with Percy’s adventures at the Roman camp. Here, a set of news kids are introduced. But unfortunately, like the last group, I didn’t find them very unique or memorable. I can’t even remember their names, otherwise I would list them here. The one thing I do remember is that Riordan brings back some of the old characters along with Percy– Nico, Tyson, and a few others. Then the kids embark on a series of quests with a final boss fight. God, this book read like a video game.

The middle of this book dragged. Even Percy couldn’t make it more interesting. Well, actually, he could. The two other characters who had chapter focuses (Frank and Hazel; I looked them up) were duller than doorknobs. They lacked a defining voice. When it was time for a Percy chapter– despite the fact that it wasn’t from first person anymore– I was overjoyed. He just shines as a character.

Thinking about it, that’s probably the whole series’ biggest downfall. Having multiple “main” characters doesn’t work for these books like the way it does in Game of Thrones. They are all too similar and never get a chance to really develop. Percy’s good because I had five books of him. He’s familiar to me and stands out. The others blend. Which is basically what makes them boring. I mean, heck, I couldn’t even remember their names.

Suffering through the new kids’ chapters turned into skipping their chapters and just reading Percy’s. From that, I suppose you could say that me calling the plot boring is inaccurate because I missed essentially a third of the book. But it’s like…I don’t care. From what I got off Wikipedia, nothing happens except some slight build up for the overall plot of the series.

The ending, I read. That’s like the last 100 or so pages. I read all of them because they were zingers. Mostly because Percy is just an excellent fighter and he pulls some really cool stuff. Because he is the Son of Neptune. And just seems to have the best powers. Seriously. The. Best.

Ahem. Anyways,  action is where Riordan sparkles. He manages to keep the cheesy/funny stuff (like their battle cries) while providing some awesome description. It’s not as heavy-handed as the questing in the middle of the book. It’s lighter and faster and it has this great final-battle feel. You know it. You’re up against the last boss and you’re down to one heart and now is the chance to finally use that move you learned. Guys, it was cool.

Then the book ends with a cliffhanger. No, that’s wrong. It’s more like a bridge: this is finally where the plots of the previous book and this one collide.

When I finished it, I threw the book across my bed (because I lack the guts necessary to actually throw it on the floor). I had realized something: these first two books were basically one gigantic prologue to the actual plot. It’s just character introductions(which failed) and mini-quests. The real story will start in the next one.

At least that’s what I’m hoping.

Honestly, though. There wasn’t really a purpose to this book and the last one except to feed my Percy-addiction. So Riordan has become my enabler. Grats, bro; but I wouldn’t say it was worth the time I invested here.

Or maybe I’ve just become a bitter crow in my old age. My brother actually enjoyed this book. He’s some six years younger than me (at 12), and as the intended audience, his opinion is what really matters. So there you go. The target market loved it. And that’s what counts.

Ri’s Rating:

QQ.5/QQQQQ
2.5/5


0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I would love to see a reviewer complete his novel and skip the parts. We don’t know when writer can sparkly his skills.

    I read “The lost hero” and was disappointed with it. No percy in it!! very less fun. I will try this new one but will need lot of energy and patience because Riordan Books always tends to be childish (They are intended to be but still….)

    Reply
  2. reef

     /  December 22, 2011

    i thought your blog was ad free so what was that howcast add at the bottom of the post?

    Reply
    • why, it was a wordpress ad! i don’t get paid to let people advertise on my blog, but wordpress keeps my blog free by occasionally putting ads up.

      Reply

Speak thy mind

