Wolfsbane Book Review

How many trials can love survive?

-Front Cover

Sequel to Nightshade

Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

Last we saw Calla, the wolfish heroine of this book, she had just been abducted by her worst enemies and spirited away to their secret base. It was a major cliffhanger.

I was distraught. Like, to the point where I honestly believe there are not words to describe how much I wanted to read this book after I finished the first. For those of you who haven’t read book one, entitled Nightshade, Calla is the alpha female of a wolfpack— one of many that are enslaved to otherworldly creatures. They were supposed to be protectors of the packs, these creatures. Unfortunately, because they controlled all aspects of the wolves’ lives, they also controlled what the wolves knew of them and how they felt about them. There were secrets the packs were not supposed to learn about. When Calla meets the new boy, Shay, all the overlord creature things’ (whose names I clearly cannot remember) plans go down the drain. Secrets are uncovered. Stuff happens. Calla and Shay end up getting captured. By their enemies. We’re back at square one.

So this cliffhanger. I was not fond of it. And when this book came out, I was in South America and didn’t have access to it. When I finally got my paws on it, it was October— some 1,000 years after it came out. I grappled with the idea of not reviewing it because it’s clearly past its expiration date, but I read it and have some strong words to say so here goes…

I will admit: the first book sounds cheesy. Go ahead. Judge me. I spew all this crap about quality writing and original plots and then fall for a slightly cliché book about werewolves. In my defense, it was addicting. Like Twilight addicting. And also not too poorly written. And maybe I’m a bit of a hypocrite, but I think I’ll live.

Right, so I had deemed the first book good and worth reading. This second one? Nope.

Nope.

Nope.

Nope.

Nope.

No.

Just—

No.

Seriously. There are few sequels that have disappointed me more. I honestly regret reading this. It ruined the whole series for me. Let me explain why.

The story starts off literally right where the last one left off. Calla is captured, cut scene, fade to black, next book. Action! She wakes up. She has no idea where she is. But there are some people hovering around her who are willing to explain.

They do this in great detail. For like infinite years. Seriously. This book exists outside the normal parameters of space and time. I don’t understand how Cremer thought that introducing about a thousand new characters, none of whom are particularly interesting/distinguishable from one another, and then having them stand around and talk with Calla about everything she could ever possibly want to know about them was a good idea. I get that there’s a lot of explaining to do. I mean, Calla has just woken up in the house of her enemies. She’s shocked. Stuff has to be made clear. Calla has to be convinced to join their side. But does this warrant abudcting the first half of the book? No.

During this time of eternally flapping tongues Calla is reunited with Shay, her love interest. She digs him. That was clearly established in the last book. Calla was, under the Master Creatures’ orders, supposed to marry someone else. But that didn’t work out because Calla liked Shay. It seems like Cremer couldn’t go wrong here— I mean, she’s bringing two characters deeply in love with each other back together. I should’ve been swooning.

I was not.

Not only was it poorest display of affection that I’ve ever read about (and by that I mean, boring, awkwardly set up, and weirdly public), but Calla randomly starts thinking about the boy that she was supposed to marry. His name is Ren. And despite the fact that Calla totally abandoned him and all she knew to be with Shay, Ren is just everywhere in Calla’s thoughts. Every time Shay touches her, Ren is there. In her brain. Messing things up. For the duration of this book.

This book was not supposed to be a love triangle because Calla. Made. Up. Her. Mind. So why—why!— is she suddenly all indecisive? I don’t get it. It’s the ultimate combination of things I hate in teen lit: girls that can’t make up their mind and love triangles.

I’m scanning this over and realizing how confusing this must all sound to someone who hasn’t read the first book. I apologize. I’m doing my best. I also haven’t had dinner, which is tough on us hobbits.

Coming back to the subject, this flakey Calla takes the place of the strong Calla I liked in the first book. Flakey Calla never leaves, which is unfortunate. Her romantic issues take up a good portion of this book. Because Shay will try and get with her, and she’ll be all, “Bro. There’s this guy in my head. His name is Ren. For some reason, I associate our making-out with him. So let’s not, mkay?”

And then the chapter will end.

Beside their failed romantics, there is also some kind of plot. Remember how I said that Calla was part of a pack and how she left them behind when she chose Shay? Well, she wants them back. Because she’s joined with her enemies who are now the good guys and they need warriors.

The characters in this book talk about plans to get them back, do some stuff, and honestly, it’s not very interesting.

This review is not only getting pathetically long, but also way more confusing that it needs to be. Basically, Wolfsbane was boring beyond all reason. Even the action was dull. The whole thing dragged— the romance, the fighting, the discussions. There was no point in me reading it because I first, got no enjoyment from it, and second, I feel like it added nothing to the overall plot. I mean, sure a cliffhanger was set up for the next book, but in the grand scheme of things, the characters mostly sat around and talked and failed to complete their missions.

I regret reading this book. I hope you don’t make the same mistake as me and waste time with it. I don’t even feel like I should tell people to read the first, lest they decide to pursue this one.

I will not be continuing this series. I probably will never read anything by this author again. She let me down. And on those somber words, we part.

Ri’s Rating:

Q.5/QQQQQ
1/5


0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Reader Vixy

     /  October 18, 2012

    the beginning was confusing but at the end it wasn’t so bad

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  October 19, 2012

      I definitely prefered the begining to the end. Did you you ever finish the series?

      Reply
  1. Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer « Brooklyn Book Girl

Speak thy mind

