Three Book Reviews on Books I Should Have Read When I Was Ten

What a long title. Anyways, point o’ this post is, I read some kids’ books. I didn’t like ’em very much. But I blame that on the fact that they were kids’ books. I got to thinking, before I wasted an hour of my life on each review, why not do them all at once, since I basically have the same feelings on all of them.

Before I start though, we should probably wrap up some plot holes here. Like the fact that sometimes I read kids’ books and give them rave reviews (ahem, Percy Jackson). I feel like there are some kids’ books that can transcend age, and some that are written just for the 8-15 age group. Harry Potter can; these ones can’t.

So our first book is called Viola in the Spotlight. It was about this girl– she was 15 I believe– and she had just returned from a school year away from home. It was a sequel to another book about her and I didn’t know that when I read it, but it made perfect sense. Anyways, Viola is a little film geek and she’s home for the summer and lovin’ it until her best friend forever and always (BFFAA, which comes up in that form a lot and I had no idea what it meant until halfway through the book), Andrew, starts acting weird around her (because he likes her; it’s pretty obvious even though Viola takes eons to realize) and her best girlfriend is hopelessly in love against her parents’ wishes.

Everything about this plot and book was average, regardless of my age. But if I had been younger when I read it, I’m sure I would have skimmed less. It was light and fluffy and lacked anything deep, but if you know a little girl who’s looking for a summer read, she would probably enjoy this. It’s age-appropriate, but nothing new.

The second book is Sean Griswold’s Head which tried to be a little more emotional. It’s about this girl whose name I have forgotten and her father has a disease that will basically leave him crippled. She’s really upset about it and starts pulling away from her family. Her school councilor suggests a focus object and she chooses Sean Griswold’s head. The more she focuses on it, the more she starts to want to get to know him which leads to a cute little romance. The ending drags and it’s all very predictable. I thought this book was like a Sarah Dessen for tweens. Again, good for younger girls but I’ve already heard this story a million times.

The last book is Eon: Dragoneye Reborn. It’s about a girl, Eona, who is pretending to be a boy so that she may train to become a dragon’s apprentice. It’s set in a fantastical asian world and was actually pretty well-written. However, I could barely get into it because I…well, frankly I’m not really sure. I guess the plot wasn’t holding up for me. remember when Eragon came out eons ago and then all anybody wrote was fantasy featuring dragons? Well this came off as one of them. My Nanee doesn’t like Harry Potter because she’s read lots and lots of magical boarding school books. Not to say that Harry Potter isn’t good; she’s just over it. So that’s pretty much what happened to me here. Maybe 5 years ago this would have been my book of the summer, but not now. I’m just too old.

All of these books are good for tweens and children and I recommend them to the youth of today. They would, in judgement against other books written specifically for that demographic, probably get 3/5.

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

