X-Men: First Class Movie Review

Yeah, guys, remember when I used to see movies all the time? And now I never do. Not because of time. More because of poverty. I don’t get in free anymore since my brother doesn’t work there and now I’m just another poor student.

Anyways, I finally found $1o.50 and a friend and went and saw X-Men: First Class last night. I love a good super hero movie, and I’m pleased to say it didn’t disappoint.

Let me set some terms down before I go any further though. So, I’m big on super heroes. I love them. I’ve seen a lot of their movies. The best, I think, was Spider Man 2, which had a lot of emotion and a lot of action. It was just fantastic. The Dark Knight was good, but I thought it was too long. Iron Man is fun, but it’s not as deep. The other X-Men were alright; I enjoyed them but I wouldn’t call them anything special.

This one though, I would. So from what I’ve read about the director, he was looking not to line it up with the other movies, but to sort of reboot it. Which I’m glad for because I would love to see more of this cast if possible. I like them way more than the other X-Men cast.

It’s probably because I knew all of these people from other movies that I loved. James McAvoy from Penelope and Narnia, Michael Fassbender from Inglorious Basterds, Nicholas Hoult from Skins. It was great seeing them in new roles, and mostly getting to see more of them. I thought the acting was quite nice. Sometimes in teen-oriented movies, people give up acting skills for explosions and looks, but this one had a nice balance.

The historical backdrop was different in a good way. I’ve always thought the Cold War era was an interesting time. The only thing is, during the movie there was this giant map of the world on the wall and it had all the countries in color blocks and over the USSR it said Russia. I mean, I guess if they’re fighting Russia at the time it makes sense, but Russia was only a state within it, so shouldn’t the whole thing have been labeled USSR? Maybe I missed it. Perhaps I’ll just have to watch it again and find out.

Anyways, it was good acting with a good plot and a good message (Mutant and Proud, guys), and good special effects and a good script, but what made the movie for me was the end. Where Magneto and Professor X argue. I almost cried, guys. I almost cried. I won’t say exactly why ’cause I don’t want to ruin it, but it was quite moving. For me at least.

Basically, I walked out of this feeling very content and pretty pleased that my $10.50 and friend hadn’t gone to waste.

4/5

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Algernon

     /  June 27, 2011

    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/06/09/opinion/09coates.html?_r=1&scp=2&sq=xmen&st=cse

    You might find this interesting. It’s a slightly different and rather nuanced perspective on this movie, but certainly something worth regarding.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  June 27, 2011

      That was definitely interesting; I read it twice. I didn’t really think about the lack of that in the movie until now. Probably since after they killed the only black mutant, there wasn’t much left to dicuss…Thank you for sharing that with me.

      Reply
  1. My review of X-Men:First Class « …At Your Fingertips

Speak thy mind

