Quite a Few Book Reviews All At Once

I don’t really like doing this. I like to give books special attention. I like to lay them out on my surgical table and examine them with my scalpel (which has gone missing as of late and that bothers me).

But, the problem is, I can only do that if I finish the book. And recently, a bunch of the books I’ve borrowed I just couldn’t finish. It’s not because they were outstandingly bad, but they weren’t fantastic either. So I skimmed them, paged through them, read random bits and (oddly enough) understood the stories pretty well. Well enough to know that I wasn’t interested in reading all of the author’s words…and then spend an hour of my life writing about them.

So, let’s just get on with it.

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

Well, this book is about a boy who works a fast food joint, turns out to be a necromancer, is forced to learn his powers and gets a werewolf girlfriend. I think there might be a sequel. This story, from the less than one hundred pages that I read, reminded me of Harry Potter, if Harry was older in book one, told his story in first person, and was a sassy narrator. This book has that coming of age, new power thing. Which, having read Harry Potter and other like stories, I just wasn’t interested in any more. Self discovery, random werewolf intimacy– I just wasn’t feeling it. From the way the main character, Sam, narrates, I would have assumed that this was a story for boys because he is, well a boy, and it was fairly quick and funny, but the title total destroys that theory. I mean, I’m sure girls will enjoy it, but most boys will never give it a second glance. Because it sounds like paranormal crap. But it was, in reality, just average. Well, the random sections I read were anyways. So if you’re a dude, or a chick, bored and looking for some good entertainment, I would suggest reading House of the Scorpion because is actually pulls me in when I read the first few chapters and you can save this for a day when you have nothing left to do.

XVI by Julia Karr

This was a book with an ambitious concept: dystopia where girls are, at 16, tattooed with a Roman 16 to show that any man can have them (legal rape essentially). It reminded me a Handmaid’s Tale, which I despised for various reasons, except for the fact that our main character, Nina, actually believes that this is okay. She believes in her dystopia. Okay, so I don’t know what kind of brainwashing these people go through because I couldn’t get past the first chapter but even in the height of women oppression, I don’t think people have ever though said, yeah a 16 on your wrists makes you legal for men to have, but it’s really for your protection. I mean, what? At least in Handmaid’s Tale  the main character, like any normal person, knew something wasn’t right. Anyways, like I said, the concept could have been interesting despite the insanity of it all, since after all, it’s fiction and there are no laws governing that, but the writing was awful and I couldn’t make it more than one chapter in. Not even that far, maybe. I’m not really sure. And I don’t really care. Anyways, I’m sure new-dystopian fans will lap this up because it’s a romance. Big surprise. But in all honesty, don’t bother.

The Chosen One by Carol Williams

This one, I almost gave a full review, but the book was so short that I don’t have much to say about it anyways. So here we are. It was actually, the best I’ve read out of all of these. I’d give it a solid 3/5 whereas the others got like 2/5 or around there. I really enjoyed it despite its brevity. It’s about this cult Mormon group and this girl who is being married off to her uncle who is ancient and she’s only 13. Her name is Kyra and she is quite a lovely narrator. She’s simple in her explanations, blunt almost and it’s totally engrossing because her life is so different and of course I was curious. I definitely don’t want people reading this and judging all Mormons. Please don’t do that. That’s very wrong. But do read it because it’s a great story, powerful in an understated kind of way and well paced and well written. The only thing I have to say that’s bad about it is that Kyra has a boyfriend (he’s a secret) who is 16. Which is a tiny age gap compared to her and her uncle, but I mean, in my life, that’s a sophmore dating a seventh grader. Which is kinda weird. Still, their relationship is sweet and good. And so is this book.

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

I actually think Ms. Ryan is a really, really good writer. I read her short in Zombies vs. Unicorns and I flipped through this and her use of words…well, it’s good. My problem with this is totally personal: I just could not get into the story. I couldn’t. I just was not feeling zombies. No matter how hard I tried. I haven’t read Forest of Hands and Teeth but I know exactly what happens in it because my friend hated the love triangle and the ending and told me all about it. Well, I actually have to say that the love triangle in this story didn’t do much good for it either. I just don’t think it’s necessary. I mean, Ryan has great concepts and talent. She doesn’t need a love triangle to sell her books. It seemed repetitive after her last novel. And it bored me. People who dig that though, will love this. I think her writing is just interesting. I sincerely enjoy reading it and if she ever does another genre, like maybe a slice of life, or another fantasy thing I am so game.

Well, that’s all of them for now. These reviews are totally useless. I see that now. So lacking in any sort of awesome. Might as well not read them. I feel like such a failure. I’m sorry. I will finish all my normal reviews and post them soon and one day, I’ll actually update the review page which is lacking a significant amount of book covers, and one day soon after that day I’ll finish linking the titles for my Alphabetical by Title list and then this whole blog will be so much better, but not as good as the distant day when I finally learn Flash and make that review page so awesome you’ll put on socks just to have them blown off.

–RI

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’m actually interested in reading the Chosen One and although it clearly isn’t flawless your review has encouraged me to pick it up… someday. I have also heard good things about Ryan’s series but I doubt I’ll be reading it any time soon either, but probably someday.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  April 7, 2011

      i think you’ll enjoy it. it just makes you so curious about her lifestyle. it’s really short too, so you can whip through it in an hour or two if you’re pressed for time.

      Reply
      • Good to know, I will definitely check it out next time I renew my library card!

Speak thy mind

