Coming Soon to a Bookstore Near You

I had a movie version of this. It was really sick. But then the Mac didn’t save it and I was not about to do it over. So…I’m doing amuch simpler book version. I’ve excluded dates because many didn’t have them and I like uniformity. You can look them up on Amazon if you wish. Besides that, enjoy!

Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky: A take on the future where there is nothing besides virtual interaction but this chick meets a dude who likes being with people. Real people. Like face to face. But oh no! it’s another dystopian and she’s gotta do something about that pesky government.

Crossed by Ally Condie: Excited for this. Loved Matched, a dystopian love story, but a good one. Very interested to see how this story plays out.

Enclave by Ann Aguirre: Dystopian…yeah. What I would give for a good vampire novel! Not. But this one sounds good. It’s about a chick named Deuce (all I can hear is douche) who wants to be a Hunter in a world where you can only be one of three things (Breeder and Builder besides). Deuce has some genuine problems and whatever romance there is seems to be support which I like. But man, I feel sorry for dudes. Do people even write books for them anymore?

Eona by Alison Goodman: People probably haven’t heard of the book Eon but I’ve seen it around. I don’t quite remember why I didn’t read it, but I put it on the list because it’s fantasy and I like fantasy best and I would like to see more good fantasies out there and…somehow I thought this was all relevant to a “Coming Soon” list. Might review the first, then this.

Forever by Maggie Stiefvater: Last book in a little trilogy about some wolves that I won’t be reviewing because I sort of hate it.

Forgotten by Cat Patrick: The story of a girl whose memory of the day before is erased every night. She can see flashforwards of the future and she accepts all this until she meets a boy who makes her want a different life. Doesn’t sound exactly dystopian and actually quite interesting.

Hourglass by Myra McEntire: Half expected to type Macintosh. A southern mystery of the paranormal persuasion. Sounds like a fun, quick read.

Possession by Elana Johnson: A story just like all the other YA dystopians—love that cannot be. Not to mention the names are totally lame. Maybe I should get a lantern and travel the world looking for one original writer…

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini: Apparently the Fates like reruns because in this story they keep replaying the story of Helen of Troy (actually of Sparta, but that’s a minor detail) with the main character, a teen girl, and a her love interest as the newest victims. There’s some demigod-ness and it’s been said to be Percy Jackson for girls, but I’m a girl and I love Percy so I don’t understand why others can’t. The only thing that “for girls” can mean is more romance and way less awesome. This book is really going to have to try hard to impress me.

The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan: The last book in the Forest of Hands and Teeth series. After being thoroughly impressed with her story in Zombies vs. Unicorns, I want to read her series. I might skip the first cause I already know exactly what happens, but I’m hoping to read this and the second one soon.

The Kane Chronicles Book 2: Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan: I’m pretty sure he just oozes awesome. I can’t wait for this. Here’s to hoping the plot is tighter than the last one!

The Near Witch by Victoria Schawb: A creepy sounding story about a town legend possibly turned real. Sounds like a nice little fairy-tale for teens and I’m looking forward to it.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin: A mystery. Involves some death and romance. I probably won’t review this just because I’m not a fan of the genre.

What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen: No really, what happened to it? I thought she was done writing. But this seems to be classic a Dessen love/slice of life/drama so I’ll read it.

Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer: I liked the first book, Nightshade. I look forward to seeing how Calla solves her problems and uhh….to see if she ends up with my guy. Okay, sometimes you just can’t resist a good romance!

I’ll move this later to the Reading List page so that you can visit it until the next round comes out.

–RI

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Nice collection of books. I love dystopia but even I have to admit it’s getting a bit old. I have advance egalleys of Starcrossed and Awaken so I’ll probably read those. Not sure about any of the others, although the Near Witch sounds good.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  March 5, 2011

      I totally almost got those exact same books, but I thought I already spent waaaaay too much time on the computer…so I didn’t sign up. I want to. But I won’t.

      Reply

Speak thy mind

