The Adoration of Jenna Fox Book Review

How far would you go to save someone you love?

— Book Description

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

This review is going to be short. Partly because this book was short. Partly because I don’t have much to say.

That’s not necessarily a bad thing. This story is about Jenna, a 17 year old girl that has just woken up from a year long comma. She doesn’t really know who she is and her parents try to give her memories back by making her watch home videos. Little by little she begins to remember, but the more she understands the more conflicted she becomes with the person (if she can still call herself that) that she is now and story behind how she got that way.

This was sci-fi. Kinda. As far as stories go, it was actually really quiet. Jenna is our narrator and she takes us through the ups and downs her discoveries about how she survived the horrible accident that put her in a comma. The book takes place sometime in the future and decides that it wants to bring up questions about what it means to be human, and scientific ethics. I thought about these questions, but I didn’t really care that much about them.

My mother read it before me and she said that it kept throwing you new curveballs every time you thought you had figured something out. She rather enjoyed it. It did throw curveballs, but I thought the effect was like blowing on a flame to revitalize the fire: just things tacked on to make it more interesting.

Did it make it more interesting? I suppose. But I mean, the book was so short that it can’t help but seem tightly plotted.

One thing I really didn’t like was that some characters were introduced and then just fizzled out. There was this guy— Dane was his name, I think— that started out as part of a potential love triangle, then became super mean eventually attacking Jenna, then never came up again.

And then there was the romance between Jenna and Ethan which started really quickly and I never really saw any chemistry between them. I didn’t think it was necessary for the plot. Didn’t really add much.

The ending was alright though kinda predictable. I just want to say that I definitely would not want Jenna’s life.

Okay. This is definitely one of my worst reviews, but like I said, I didn’t have much to say. Just a few comments. And now that they’re made, I guess we’re done here. This book was a whole lot of average (though the writing was nice). I read it in one afternoon. Took me about three hours, maybe less. In a few years, I probably won’t remember it. If you have some time to waste, read it. If not, then don’t. You’re not really missing out on much.

Ri’s Rating

QQ.5/QQQQQ

2.5/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

