The Lost Hero Book Review

Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,

To storm or fire the world must fall.

An oath to keep with a final breath,

And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death.

–Book Description, Amazon

Prequel to The Son of Neptune

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

For those of you who didn’t know, this is the same world as the Percy Jackson books: Greek gods are still alive, they’re still having kids and those kids are still going on quests and doing awesome stuff. Riordan modernizes everything to keep the gods up to this day and age; Hermes the Messenger God has a cell phone, Apollo drives a sports car. That kind of stuff. Into this mix of old and new come three new heroes, Jason, Piper and Leo. The low down on these kids:

Jason can’t remember anything. Not who he is, why he is on a bus with people who claim to be his friends, where he came from or where he is going. Piper is pretty, thinks she’s Jason’s girlfriend, is sitting next to him on a bus going to the Grand Canyon as part of a program for messed-up kids, and oh, she has this ability to talk people into doing what she wants. Like giving her a car for example. Leo is good with his hands and has a way with tools. He thinks he’s Jason’s best friend and he cracks a lot of jokes.

So the kids get to the Grand Canyon, and all of sudden, they are attacked by some monsters, saved by some demigods, and whisked away to Camp Half-Blood for a new adventure.

Oh, and by the way, Percy Jackson the (half) godly hero of the last series? He’s missing. And so is the queen of the gods, Hera. And now it’s up to the three newcomers to find them, and maybe figure get some answers to their questions along the way.

I apologize: my summarizing skills aren’t up to their usual self today. Anyways. In classic Riordan style, the story is full of action and adventure. Lost of humor and exciting writing. It’s fast-paced but unfortunately, the same old story: a quest that leads to a bigger quest which will be filled with tons and tons of mini quests. Most of which I skipped in the middle because, shucks, I’m old and they were kinda boring. My younger brother enjoyed them, but I doubt many older kids will. It will just sound too familiar to entertain them, I think.

Riordan’s characters share the chapters through alternating limited-third-person points of view, which was a little irritating because I, first, think his first person characters are much more vibrant than his third person ones, and second, find the constant switching frustrating because it stops me from getting to know one character really in depth. Sort of spreading the love too thin.

Despite this, I still got attached to Jason. Probably because of his sick coin. He flips it before battle; one side gives him a javelin, the other a sword. If that’s not cool I don’t know what is. Honestly, Riordan is pretty much the residential expert on turning regular household crap into awesome stuff. Snaps for you, man.

Back to the point. Their story was, like I said, just another set of quests and a little predictable, and a little long too. Whatever happened to tight plots? I admit, I skimmed here and there, but I still got the gist of it all. Which, as we all know, means that some of those middle bits could have been done away with.

The ending was, well a cliff-hanger. I read that last chapter and I was suddenly dying for the next book. I’m a little ashamed as to why though. But we’re all friends here, so I’ll spill.

It’s because, as I have come to realize, I was reading this book is hopes of more Percy Jackson and I don’t mean the series– I mean the character. I was waiting for him to come back this entire time and he didn’t. But it is revealed where he is in the end and the characters are obviously setting up to find him, so now knowing that the next book will surely have him, I’m dying for it.

You know I’m thinking that my attachment for Percy is what stopped me from liking this book to it’s full potential. I think I was so focused on him I didn’t really give these characters a chance to shine…

Regardless, the story was fun, well written and for the most part entertaining. I have already had many a conversation speculating the meanings of prophecies and who will come into play and who will die and whether or not Nico will ever be featured again (personally, I think he and Rachel would make a great couple).

Though this book was something I felt like I’d read before, I have a feeling that as the plot thickens and opens up for the story’s own innovation and novel characteristics (new villians, settings, gods and I’m pretty sure the whole Greek vs. Roman thing that is coming up will be huge), the coming books will be something to give the original series a run for its money.

Ri’s Rating:

QQQ/QQQQQ
3/5


0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. elina

     /  January 21, 2012

    hmm….

    Reply

Speak thy mind

