Beautiful Darkness Book Review

A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.
Sometimes life-ending.

-Amazon Book Description

 Book 1: Beautiful Creatures

Book 2: Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Things that are a given for the series:

1. I like the characters. Ethan and Lena had a very natural love to me. I enjoyed reading about them together.

2. I like the writing. It’s usually pretty engrossing and I like the feel of the southern world the authors have created.

3. I have a vested interest in finding out where these characters lives will end up.

Okay.

This  would be the continued story of Ethan, the boy who fell in love with a Caster named Lena. So we’re taken back to a small town in the south, for another gothic mystery. This time, it’s more than just Lena’s life on the line– Ethan discovers secrets about himself that threaten to change everything he knows about himself, and everything he and Lena feel for each other.

I rather enjoyed the first book in the series. Except for the longish bits where they traveled back time via touching a locket, it was quite the engrossing tale.

Unfortunately, the same doesn’t hold true for this book. The first one was long. This one was–can you believe it?– longer.  Okay, so I understand that maybe there was a lot going on, but this tale was moving along like a herd of turtles. Which is to say, not at all. It takes a hundred or so pages for things to pick up. And just as soon as they do, my favorite character, Lena, drops out of the story and things slow way, way, way down. And they don’t get any more interesting until the last few chapters which meant dragging my eyes through some three hundred pages of stuff.

Sure, there were a few bright spots in the middle. I liked the newest addition to the cast, a spunky British girl named Liv. She added some flare to replace Lena and Ethan’s angst.

Yes. There was teenage angst here. Brought on by the fact that Lena and Ethan are falling apart. I’m not counting this as a spoiler because it happens fairly early in the book. Like, really early. Which means hundreds of pages of angst.

I hated it with New Moon and I certainly didn’t enjoy it here. I can understand pain and grieving when it surrounds death, like Katniss from the Hunger Games. And okay, maybe a little bit if it’s over a girl you like. But dear god, a whole book centered solely on that? I wanted Ethan to just get over it. Stop moaning and groaning (because the way Lena was acting, I certainly would’ve given up).

I suppose his dedication says something for how true his love rings, but whatever. You can have angst. Just not three hundred pages of it. Because I will get bored.

Man. I know I’ve been complaining a lot, but honestly, it’s because I had such high expectations for this book. But it mostly read like a bad fan fic until the very, very end. It was just too slow, and too long. The mysteries got old and as much as I loved Ethan and Lena’s characters and the depth of the world they were placed in, it was not a plot I hadn’t heard before, and thus, unimpressive.

Still, because the end did have a few twists that I didn’t see coming, and because I really do care for the characters, I will continue this series and I am hoping that it will take me somewhere better than this book did.

Despite falling into those middle-book doldrums, I’d still call this a solid read and the bigger the fan you are, the more you’ll like it. As for the next book– will it be redemption? I hope so.

Ri’s Rating

QQ.5/QQQQQ

2.5/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

