Hush, Hush Book Review

Nora Grey is responsible and smart and not inclined to be reckless. Her first mistake was falling for Patch.

–Front Flap

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

 

Meet Nora, you’re average nerdy girl wandering though life. Nora meets Patch. Patch is unusual. But they sorta end up maybe liking each other…and then Nora finds out that Patch is an angel and that, coupled with strange visions and several attempts to take her life, suddenly send her normal existence spiraling out of control.

After reading a lot of paranormal romances, you start to notice a trend. It goes a little like this:

1. Girl meets dark, brooding male. They hate each other.

2. Despite the hate, the girl is inexplicably drawn to the boy.

3. Girl and boy acknowledge that they are bad for each other. They continue to hate/love one another from afar.

4. Girl asks close friend about boy. Turns out he isn’t human! At least, not all the way.

5. Girl Googles boy on oddly slow computer for this modern age.

6. Girl confronts the guy. Without saying it outright, everything comes into the open.

7. Relationship begins. Turns out all that hate was just really, really strong love.

8. Random villain introduced to give story plot. They are easily dispatched in the next 50 pages.

9. Touching scene, and cut. That’s a wrap.

The only exception to this was Beautiful Creatures, which I rather enjoyed. Not to say that I hated this, but, you know, I’ve read better. Though, considering all of the paranormal romances,  I’ve certainly read worse.

What I liked:

1. Nora was not a loser. She was way more spunky than the famous Mrs. Bella Cullen. She was sarcastic, and as the book was from her point of view, I actually found myself enjoying her voice. She was way less drab than Shiver‘s main character who was dull and cold to the point where I couldn’t connect with her. No, I rather liked Nora. Not only was she interesting, but she had a lot more sense and she didn’t just lose her wits once she started liking Patch.

2. Patch was cool. First, he was dark-skinned, Mediterreanian maybe. I sort of imagined him as a Persian-Greek mix. I thought it was pretty cool that he wasn’t a super pale kid. It was different in a good way. I also liked his sarcasm, his innuendos (which were pretty funny), his consistency in his behavior, and that fact that he was, like I said, just cool. Like those indie lovin’ rockers that you wished you knew.

I’ve actually read a lot of flack on the interwebs about how he was verbally abusive of Nora, a jerk, ect., ect. I beg to differ. Nora had a sharp tongue and did not take what he dished without giving something back. As long as both parties are participating and nobody’s hurt, I don’t actually see the abuse. And it wasn’t like what he was saying was mean. Mostly, he teased her about liking him in that I’m-too-sexy-for-my-shirt over-confident way.

I can see how some of his behavior was inexusably mean/dickish, but if that’s what Nora likes, that’s what Nora likes. He’s not my type, but seeing as Edward was a gentlemen and got eternally bashed for it, I guess people perfer douches.

3. I liked  Nora and Patch together. Why? Because not once did I have to slog through years of description or mooning or deep pondering about Patch. And they seemed well matched. Nobody was too loving, or felt like the lesser party. I thought they were a cute couple.

Now, onto what I didn’t like.

1. It’s clear that Nora likes Patch. However, Patch, because he’s so jokey-laughy all the time, need a little more convincing to prove that he likes Nora. It seems too quick, especially once you’ve read the book and know all about his intentions. I do like them as a pairing, but from a reader’s point of view, at first, it was really, really, really hard to believe. Only by the very end is it any better.

2. The ending/villains. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this in other reviews, but sometimes I come across books where they’re telling a character oriented story and halfway through it turns into a I-must-save-the- fate-of-the-world thing. Do you know what I mean? Where a villain is introduced far too late in the story for you to care?

Well, here, the villains come out early. And you are kept guessing about who’s who and what’s good and bad and right and wrong which was good and fun, but the problem is that towards the end, when we need answers, thing sorta get a little cheesy. One villain suddenly becomes all too obvious, the other far too unlikely and out of the blue.

There is no real fight scene for the former. They are taken care of and tucked away, and I suppose we are to forget about them until a later date when discussion is more appropriate or something. Defeating the first who one might think would be quite difficult seems– how should I say this?– way too easy.

And then it seems totally weird that defeating the next villain, the out of the blue one, is so hard. It takes much longer and is not quite as thrilling as you might imagine.

So yes, this book had a somewhat anticlimactic ending; that being said, the end itself, those last few pages, were quite nice. Not too cheesy, not to sad.

All in all, this is probably one of the better paranormal romances that I’ve read. I liked the spunk in the main characters, I liked them as a pairing, I liked the writing and the pacing and the font (which actually does matter to me). It’s definitely addicting and it’s on the shorter side, which is also a refreshing change. I’ve paged through it since I’ve read it and it was still enjoyable then, and the sequel will probably be just as much fun.

If you’re looking for a pop-lit romance, this just may be it. I didn’t think I could stomach more of this genre, but I guess I just had such low expectations that I ended up being pleasantly suprised. I know a lot of people, feminists especially will disagree with me for this becuase it doesn’t really promote traits we look for in a modern girl, which I assume to be confidence (honestly, though, why are all the girls in these books lacking it so much? Is it hip to hate yourself now?), smarts (which Nora has, but doesn’t really use), and courage (well she uses this, but kinda for the wrong reasons). However, not every character can be the perfect girl. And not every girl is going to suddenly decide to make the choices Nora makes.

Why? Because this is fiction and paranormal romances don’t exist.

Thus, I can enjoy a book without hating it becuase I am postively sure that never in my life will a sometimes creepy sometimes kind angel decide that he wants to kill me and then fall in love with me. I will never be like Nora, nor will I have to make her choices.

And so, with that in mind, I enjoyed this book much like I enjoy watching Gossip Girl, or Wife-Swap: some of those people are over the top, but they’re not me and while I keep that in mind, I can still enjoy the show.

 Ri’s Rating:

QQQ/QQQQQ
 
3/5
 

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. i’m reading it

    oh and i have to write this stupid insanely big long essay/project thing about the handmaid’s tale
    (there was a big list of boring-as-hell books and i chose one i wouldn’t have to read again)
    bleh.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  October 16, 2010

      good. i hope you like it. i don’t know if it was lack of friends or what, but i couldn’t put it down.

      Reply
  2. Sarah

     /  December 4, 2011

    Hi. I liked your review and would give this a 3, like you did. But the only complaint I have that you did not mention was how Nora kept calling 911. She called the police at 2 or 3 times. At least i think cause its been a month since I’ve read it. Anyway, I personally thought that that was one too many. I confess that its realistic (because that’s what I would do) but it’s not supposed intended to be realistic. I think it showed that Nora was not as strong because she could’ve figured it out herself, without the help of 911. I would like it if you shared your opinion, but if you can’t, thats fine too.
    Thanks
    (p.s I really like your reviews!)

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  December 4, 2011

      Ah, thank you for your comment! It’s certainly got me smiling. I actually don’t remember at all that she called the police, but it’s been so long since I’ve read the book, I’ll take your word for it. You’re right– Nora definitely could figure it out on her own. But I guess calling the police is a knee-jerk reaction, yeah? Thanks for visiting and make sure to tell me what you think of the series conclusion!

      Reply
  3. Mercedes

     /  March 30, 2012

    omg this really helped me with my report…. I didnt copy it of course but I did steal some Ideas I didnt know what to write and you help me with some ideas of how to start it and what to put into the report the report was easy when I had help with what I was trying to do…. thanks your awesome thanks again :)

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  April 17, 2012

      Haha I’m always glad to be of service. Thanks for commenting and tell your friends– I love getting visiters :)

      Reply
  4. Caiti

     /  May 29, 2012

    i know what you’re talking about the font. If it’s too small i feel lke an old lady but if it’s too big if feel really dumb.

    Reply

Speak thy mind

