2010 Book Awards

 

 

 The books chosen did not necessarily come out this year, but they shouldn’t be too old  and for the most part, I think I’ve reviewed them all. So here we go.

There are 8 categories: Most Original Idea, Best Young Adult, Best Series, Best Pleasure Read, Best Children’s Book, and Best Movie Based Off a Book and of course, Best Book.

 

 

Best Movie Based Off a Book

 How to Train Your Dragon

The book was sorta sappy, even for younger kids. But the movie it spawned was beyond amazing. In every. Single. Way.

 

1.Best Series

For this, you needed to not only have me hooked the entire series, but you had to be good too (because some books are addictive but not very well-written). There were lots I had to consider as a ton of series ended this year. But considering the bombshell book that came out this summer, I think we all know that this award belongs to The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

For being totally engrossing, doing all it’s own stunts, and perhaps most importantly, making the hard choices to lend a clear note of “real” to a story that is unlike any other I’ve read before.  

 

2. Best Pleasure Read

For this, I’m talking about a book I can read over and over and over and over. One that never fails to delight me. One that while in Europe, when I had read everything I had to read, I could just keep picking this up and going over it again and again and again. And again. Congrats to Starclimber by Kenneth Oppel.

 It’s just purely excellent.  

3. Best Children’s Book

Here, I was looking for something that not only kept me awake, but my younger pals too. My brothers and I have read tons of the same books, but the only ones they really, really enjoyed were Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan.

Fun, exciting and have you seen the movie-based cover? It’s just good times all around.

 

4. Most Original Idea

This absolutely had to be, without exception, something I had never ever read before. Which is sorta hard, seeing as I’ve read a lot. Still, somehow, I stumbled across not just a book, but a series, that was engrossing to a fault, and so original that I doubt I will ever read something like this again. And the award goes to The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.

It’s strange and terrifying and utterly unique.

 

5. Best Young Adult

For this, I wanted something that appealed to the broader YA audience, but still stood out. So, obviously, there’s going to be something paranormal here since that’s what’s popular, but it can’t be a Twilight-knockoff, because that would make it average. So what did I choose? Only one of the best YA romances I’ve read in a really long time. It’s called Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

It has all the allure of magical love, but in a original, interesting and non-sappy way. Loved it. 

And now for

6.  Best Book

I had to love it. All of it. And with this book, I did. It’s older, but who cares. I wish I had read it years ago. I’m beyond glad I have it now. This is one book that has moved me to tears. This is a book I turn to if I want inspiration. This is a book I’ll randomly pick up and read just for the fun of it. This is a book that no matter how many years go by, I will continue to love, and love and love.

And it’s called… The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Let’s just say, if you’re ever in doubt of what to read, this book is really, really good.

 

Well, that wraps up this years awards. It was a fun time. I think I’ll make a little badge for that last award and post it on the sidebar for all who enter this realm. With that, farewell my amigos.

–RI

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I looove all your picks! And I picked up ‘The Knife of Never Letting Go’ at the library last week and wasn’t sure if it would be any good. Now I’ll have to get right on that :D

    Reply

Speak thy mind

