Mockingjay Book Review

My name is Katniss Everdeen.

Why am I not dead?

I should be dead.

–front flap

 Also in this series: Book 1: The Hunger Games, Book Two: Catching Fire

If you, like me, wanted a moment of true romance between the final couple, click here for my solution.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Well, I finished Mockinjay about two hours ago. It’s 12:51 a.m here and I really should be sleeping. But I don’t want to forget how I feel about this book, so I’m going to start writing about it now. (As I meditate on this book, I may add edits to this review.)

First, for the summary, I think we all know that it is about the rebellion. Peeta’s been captured. District 12 is in upset. Katniss must lead the rebels.

Once you know that, I can’t give away any more without ruining things, and you’re set anyways.

So, my thoughts on the book.

Well, first, I am for Peeta and Katniss. I never liked Gale. He seemed too angry and shallow for me. But, I promise you, no spoilers.

However, I will say that all of the characters that Collins has created go through a great deal of emotional change and trauma. It’s not easy to read about, and it actually had me crying at times because, as I was so attached to certain people, it was like watching close friends hurt and being unable to help them.

Sometimes, this kind of deep emotional trouble is good for a story, but I will have to say that this book certainly pushed me to my limits. With some books, like the Book Thief  (which I loved), you can read about this kind of stuff, and it makes you cry, but you know it’s right. But here, sometimes it felt like overkill. Probably becuase some of that characters were snuffed out too quickly, without much thought.

I suppose some people will call the ending true to how war really goes. Well sure. It is. It makes absolute sense the way things turn out. I can’t dispute that.

But I do wish that she had left her characters a little more patched up. She hints at it, but in this case I wish she had said it straight out, just given a little more detail in that last paragraph (where she talks about who ends up with who), and made Katniss seem a little more at peace.

But I must say, regardless of who I wanted to end up together, live, or die (I was pleased with some, not with others) the ending was still good.

It did wrap up things nicely; it made a lot of sense. I think only one or two characters’ ending were never totally explained, which is good for a book with a cast this size. There were some things that I totally called. Some were a surprise. It was interesting to see how Collins pulled off this highly anticipated book.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t always interesting. There was a middle part of the book reminiscent the beginning of the second book, where not a lot happens. It’s slow. Katniss, our hero, doesn’t do a lot. Every time something big happens, it seems that she blacks out, and then someone explains it to us as she wakes up.

On one hand, it was nice that Katniss didn’t take part in jobs she obviously wasn’t ready for because that made more sense. On the other hand, it was a little dull to be on the sidelines all the time.

The rest of the book was well-written. The characters were strong. Collins still manages to slam a few things in our face, make us want more. The ending hundred pages were very fascinating. As were the first one hundred.  There were definitely a lot of things I never saw coming. Ever. And those were very, very fun to read.

This book was incredibly emotional and powerful. It’s a rare thing that I get attached to so many characters from the same cast, but here I was feeling every bit of pain and happiness that they did. It sometimes feels as if they are– dare I say it?– real.

Yes, Collins has created people I geniuely care for and the story she worked around them was bloody, gritty, heartwrenching, and real. By the time you get to the end, you’re broken. But Collins gives us something to hold on to. A little hope, a small happiness.

And when you’re done, you feel complete. This is what you waited for. This is what you’ve always wanted. Collins, hats off to you: this series was inredible.

Ri’s Rating

QQQ.5/QQQQQ

3.5 /5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. YOU GAVE IT A THREE?? THINK ABOUT YOUR PAST BOOKS!! i was thinking at most a 2.5
    not that i’ve read it lol
    but not even melo liked it and she’s pret mellow about this stuff

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  August 25, 2010

      most books do rate a 3. the thing is, i can’t rate it lower because a lot of the stuff that i didn’t like were the things that made the story so strong, the fact the it never downplayed the true cost of war and violence, which is the inveitable loss of lives, both friends and enemies. i can’t rate collins lower because she made her story real. it’s not like gregor where it was just unecessary; it’s different.

      Reply
  2. This book disappointed me. I was expecting better after The Hunger Games.

    Reply
  3. definitely a 2. (TEAM GALE)

    all im going to say is that she LOVED gale and if he hadn’t left she wouldve been with him (he shouldve magically reappeared when she was in the woods counting to 10 waiting on him). she loved him and was constantly ONLY thinking of him in ALL 3 BOOKS!!!!!! (pay attention people) even when she was thinking about peeta she always had that side thought of “what about gale?”…. SHE LOVED HIM!

    as for peeta. she only had sympathy sorry guilt and sadness for him. THAT AIN’T LOVE PEOPLE!!!!!!! come ON!!!! she was only with him in the end because he was the ONLY one there. and if she would’ve picked him otherwise it would’ve been out of pity. AGAIN! NOT LOVE!!!!

    i don’t know where people get off saying that gale was a jerk. EXCUSE ME?!?!?! read the book again!!! KATNISS WAS AN [CUSS EDIT] TO HIM!!!! read book 3 again! she turned everything into an argument or “his fault” in someway when he was just joking around or trying to care for her. she = [CUSS EDIT], he = amazing.

    (p.s ive come to the comclusion that i love gale because i have a real life gale. my best friend and bf. for over 5 years. and ps. we’re getting married)

    if i could plead with suzanne collins to write another book I would…. i do plan to stalk her somewhere in the near future so my own nightmares can end of katniss being with peeta and gale leaving never to be seen again.

    my note to katniss would be (TRY FREAKING HARDER TO SEE GALE AGAIN! YOU KNOW YOU LOVE HIM!!!!)

    my note to you?? STOP BEING SUCH A GIRL WITH THE WHOLE “omg hes so sweet and cute” THING!!! UGH!!!! hes a pansy! and no pansy can take care of a girl with that much needs!

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  June 15, 2011

      Hello. You seem to be very upset with the ending of this book. Let me say some words in response to this comment of yours.

      First, we have a language filter on this site. Your cuss words have been edited out.

      Second, I’m not sure Katniss would have chosen Gale even if the Hunger Games hadn’t chosen her. Because she was very resolute on not having kids, which made her shy away from relationships.
      The reason I am a fan of Katniss and Peeta is because I think their personalities work very well together. They both had such horrible things to overcome; it’s like J.K Rolwing said in Harry Potter, there are some things that you can’t go through without becoming friends.

      But their movement to a couple seems to be what irritated you. Well, it seems that you are only a fan of Gale, not Katniss, not Peeta, just Gale. That means you’ve decided that Katniss should end up with Gale because you like him more, but you’re not the character in the book. Katniss ended up with Peeta because she liked him more. He seemed to me the exact person that Katniss needed. Someone calm and reliable. I never liked Gale much his personality bothered me. I’d go into more detail, but I have a life.

      Yes, that is how the book ended. It’s done. End of story. You should let these angry emotions go.

      Third, I wouldn’t give this book a 2 like you suggested because I am judging it by more than the content of that love triangle. That wasn’t the main focus of the book. That wasn’t the whole plot. There was so much more going on there; the story is a very powerful statement against a lot of things.

      And fourth and finally, your note to me was rather rude. You said:

      STOP BEING SUCH A GIRL WITH THE WHOLE “omg hes so sweet and cute” THING!!!

      Unfortunately, I have this big problem where I tend to like people who are nice. I know, I know, I really should stop. Kindness is such a horrible thing to love, and you can rest assured that I am taking medicine and going to therapy to get rid of my problem.

      Please visit the Spotted Mushroom again and I hope you have a very nice day.

      Reply
  4. I loved the ending too. A lot of people I know tell me they hated it . . . but I think they just expected it to be fairytale happy (probably because of its popularity giving it an audience of romance-lover sorts). I think a bittersweet ending was perfect for the mood.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  August 2, 2011

      What upset me most was that Prim died. That was just so unnecessary. But after thinking about it, and for reading some good fics, I’ve come to terms with what people call “the reality of war.” I guess it made sense.

      Reply
  5. Sara

     /  September 6, 2011

    I like how the book ended, it was a perfect ending to the series if you ask me, but Katniss’s reaction to it bothered me. She just moped around for months, ever since Prim died. I understand that it’s all very traumatizing, but sitting around doing nothing for a few months seems over-dramatic.

    I love all your reviews, and every time I visit this site, I find more books I want to read! I’ve been forcing myself to not read the Mockingjay review until I finished the book so I didn’t spoil it for myself. =)

    Anyway, I loved this book and the rest of the series, and I can’t wait for the movie to come out!!!

    Reply
  6. Hannah

     /  March 11, 2012

    I was really disappointed with the third book in the Hunger Games series. Katniss is very whiny most of the time… I ended up really disliking her by the end of the book. She even says in the book that she “isn’t the same person she was before the games” and it’s true. She’s a depressed, empty person. And when I put myself in her shoes, I understand, but that doesn’t make it any more enjoyable to read from her sad point of view. When I finished the book, I just felt depressed and sad.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  March 15, 2012

      I totally agree. She really did become a completely different person, especially when she voted for the games at the end. I felt like we never really got to see her heal at all. The ending was so broken and sad. Thanks for commenting, and come back soon!

      Reply
  7. Adam

     /  July 17, 2012

    Hey RI this Adam and i just finished the hunger games series ending in Mockingjay. I was impressed with the ending and how it offered closure but yet i am still a little disappointed. One thing i couldn’t get over in the series was the way Katniss could not decide over Gale or Peeta. I agree with Katniss that she is sort of controlling and little cruel the way she sort of played Gale and Peeta the way she did over the series. I also did not like the way Collins made Gale full of hate but i guess that’s just the way he is. I guess Katniss and Peeta were supposed to be together because Katniss Is full of “destruction” while Peeta is full of “rebirth”. I would call this book excellent but in my mind anything that has any sort of action, suspense, or conflict is good which is probably why i digest most genres. Another reason why I liked Gale was he sort of appealed to me as a nice reliable friend, but his attitude and relationship to katniss sort of deteriorated. Especially when Katniss didn’t shoot him when he was captured by Peacekeepers after the pod that made the road collapse. I was really liking Gale but after a while i realized he was a little self centered and uncaring although it was tough to admit. Well that’s all i have to say, make sure you say hi to the family.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  July 17, 2012

      Sup yo! Dude, you analysis of their relationships was pro, you sounded like a college professor :) I’m glad you read the series and we should definitely talk more about it next time we meet/call. I never really Katniss as a character, but I loved Peeta. Everyone says hi back!

      Reply

Speak thy mind

