Star Gazer

So Pops got us a massive telescope a while back and my mother dearest just dragged me away from my story to go look at the stars. My mind went blank and we fumbled around with the scope in the dark, and eventually I had to admit I had no idea how to work it. Though I did manage to turn it on.

Anyways…

Here I am back inside (and what’s up with all these midnight posts I’ve been doing lately?) and I decided to search for stars and space and look at all the stuff I found!!

 

 

 

 

 

Shucks this stuff is so wicked I might just literally stop breathing. How can you not want to be an astronaut now? I wish I was. To live among the stars, what a life.

Some people say that it seems like it would be incredibly lonely out in space, but I don’t think so. It’s the same as when you’re home and everyone else is sleeping and you’re the only one awake: you know that there is life beyond the walls of your ship, at home on earth or on some distant planet, but for that moment, you are the only person who is awake. You’re the only person with eyes open to see the wonder, the mystery.

Love it.

One day, I will be captain of my intergalactic spaceship, the Galaxior Cruiser (pronouced ga-laxi-or), and Captain Sarah will sail among the stars forever, full of myself and answering to no one! A quote from one of my favorite movies:

” Look at you! Glowing like a solar fire. You’re something special, Jim. You’re gonna rattle the stars, you are!

 — Silver from Treasure Planet
 (I think I favor a Treasure Planet-esque space-life to a Star Wars one.)

 I love the way that sounds. Those words. You’re going to rattle the stars.

Who knows. Maybe I will.

-RI 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. i like the fourth pic best
    reminds me of here
    you can see a lot of stars here

    and captin striker sounds better than captin sarah

    Reply

Speak thy mind

