Monsters of Men Book Review

Yes, I think.

Here it comes.

The end of everything.

The end of it all.

-pg 2

 

This is the third book in the Choas Walking Trilogy: Book 1: The Knife of Never Letting Go, Book 2: The Ask and the Answer

Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

 

This is the final part of the Chaos walking series. It picks up where the last book ended, with Viola riding off, and Todd untying the Mayor because the Spakle were coming to start a war.

I’m not going to give any more details than that. I really don’t want to ruin anything. Last books are special— you want to go in knowing as little as possible about what about to happen, and come out an expert.

So, I am just quickly going to list the things I love about this series and this book:

  1. The writing. It’s brilliant. Todd and Viola as of the second book, and now one more, are three excellent narrators. Ness writes in perfect prose for his story. It’s never long-winded or highfalutin. It’s starkly simple, straight to the point, but not in way that makes you feel like it was written for stupid people. More like it was written by the desperate kids who narrate and they have no time for fancy wordplay. When the action rolls around, it’s broken and jagged, drawing you into the drama and building up suspense like you wouldn’t believe. I love it.
  2. The characters. They are all well-developed, from the villains to the heroes and the people in between. You get to know them and what’s absolutely fabulous is that they follow very little stereotyping, much in the way that Miyazaki, whose movies are known for blurring the lines between good and evil, creates his characters with all the dimensions that make us human. So sometimes, Ness’s characters mess up. They make mistakes. They fight each other. They hurt each other. And sometimes, they make up. Ness captures human nature in its most desperate situations and quite brilliantly lays it down for our enjoyment.
  3. Todd and Viola. I like them because they are two characters who obviously belong to each other. That being said, they are constantly trying to do what’s good for the other and work that into what’s right and it’s interesting to see how they try to make things impersonal in trying moments, and how sometimes, that’s not always the best choice. Anyways, before I get sidetracked, I listed these two because their romance is one of my favorites. Ness doesn’t have to spell it out for us; the way they interact with each other just kind of lets you know. And that kind of relationship between characters, the sort that develops naturally, is the absolute best kind to read about.
  4. The plot. It’s fast paced and full of action and decisions and people who have to make the right choice even when they don’t know what that is. There’s lots of suspense and drama, and good pacing, and one heck of an ending, that frankly, left me breathless.

So as you may have guessed, this was an excellent book. It really is. As far as conclusions go, it wrapped up everything— I can’t even think of a loose end— and left me satisfied. My brother who also read the book said he didn’t like the ending because it’s one of those where you know, even though the author doesn’t say it. He just wanted the author to say it. I think it worked out perfectly just the way it is.

The one criticism I have is with the third narrator that was introduced, but even this isn’t really going to be critical. Here’s why: So you know that the rest of the plot is thoroughly engaging and Todd and Viola did a lot to keep me interested. So when the third narrator came in, while what he had to say was important and interesting, it was, how to say it, getting in the way of the me finding out what was happening next. Like, it was the ultimate suspense, having to go through those chapters and not know what was happening everywhere else. So this wasn’t exactly bad. But at times, I will admit, I wish the third dude wasn’t there. However, towards the end of the book, the stories converge more so that issue pretty much disappears.

If you start feeling like me in that respect as you read, then feel free to skim—but don’t skip; you’ll get confused!!— those chapters and then come back to them once your lust for drama has been satisfied.

Okay. Well, I think I’ve covered everything. If you haven’t read the Chaos Walking Trilogy, I highly recommend it. The series is gripping, and the content is surprisingly deep (Ness’s descriptions of brutality and war ring true to the real world). It’s an excellent adventure and certainly a series that I won’t be forgetting any time soon.

Ri’s Rating

QQQQ.5/QQQQQ

4.5 /5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Call me Ems

     /  December 7, 2012

    4.5????

    Reply

Speak thy mind

