Linger Book Review

Once Grace and Sam have found each other, they know they must fight to stay together. For Sam, this means a reckoning with his werewolf past. For Grace, it means facing a future that is less and less certain.

–Amazon Book Description

Book 1: Shiver

Linger by Maggie Steifvater

 

Even though I’ve had a lot of books waiting to be reviewed, I decided to do this one before my mind forgets how I actually feel and tricks me into lying.

Linger is the continuing story of Sam and Grace, who we met in the last book, Shiver. Sam was then a werewolf whose form depended on the season— cold means wolf, hot means human. The rest of his pack was in danger of being shot by the locals of Mercy Falls because a boy had reportedly been killed by wolves. However, the boy had actually turned into a wolf— and his sister, Isabel, wasn’t ready to give up on him yet. So by the end of the book, she teamed up with Grace to try and “cure” the werewolf in her brother and in Sam. Unfortunately, her brother died, leaving Isabel a little unstable, and to Grace’s happiness, Sam lived.

So in this book, joining Sam and Grace in narration is Isabel and one other, a new wolf named Cole. Together they continue the story of the pack, which essential is a story that tries to answer these questions: Is Sam cured for real? Why did Grace never turn into a wolf and why is she feeling so freaky now? Can Grace and Sam be together? Can Isabel and Cole find themselves, or will they just break? And most importantly, what does the future hold for all the wolves of Mercy Falls?

Well, for some important questions, I have to say, this was a rather dull book.

I hate to start off so negative, but you might as well know it from here: I wasn’t all that impressed by the first book and this second one has done little to change my mind.

The things I didn’t like from before are still here. Grace is still a bore to hear from. When she’s not around Sam, she’s so dull it hurts. Which sucks because she’s not around Sam for a good portion of the book. Her personality is supposed to be by-the-book good girl, but she comes off as cold, and not in a “strong female lead” way. More like in a b****y way. I mean, at one point Isabel is feeling down and she thinks, “If Sam were here, and if he were me, he would have asked Isabel how bad things were and if she was doing okay. It wouldn’t have occurred to me to ask the question before I’d met him…”

Okay. So there are people who aren’t people persons, but seriously, how insensitive to you have to be for it never to occur to you to ask how someone was doing if they’re looking down?

That’s just my opinion. Maybe I’m being nit-picky. Maybe not.

Aside from my dislike of Grace, there were a few other things that bothered me.

First, was that Steifvater kept reusing the same kinds of phrases to describe Cole and Isabel. Things like bluntly beautiful, and broken and damaged and I know that’s kind of unfair to say that as a negative, since I assume Steifvater was trying to create a certain mood or character type around that, but it just got on my nerves. Of course, this is purely my taste, so I can’t really blame the author. I wouldn’t say it was this that made the book bad.

However, the plot did. Those questions I listed, well half-way through the book, I didn’t care. Things that meant nothing to me kept being revisited and discussed and parts of that were obviously to build drama, or foreshadow but I just didn’t care. The character’s lives, with the exception of a few scenes where Isabel and Cole talk to each other, stopped mattering to me. The reason behind my lack of interested? Well, the story was dragging. Everything was slow, and not in an enjoyable “quiet town” (think Cold Sassy Tree) sort of way. Not even in a Bella-Meets-Edward endless conversations that somehow manage to keep me flipping pages sort of way. I felt like if the characters in the story weren’t falling in love (like they were in the first book, which was more interesting than this one) then they weren’t fun to read about at all. Their conversations became repetitive. They voiced the same fears over and over. And simply put, nothing was happening.

Until of course, like the in the last book, we started to hit the end and suddenly everything was happening. Unfortunately, by that point, I was way past caring and I skimmed it. I got to the end.

If you’re into the series, it’ll be a cliff-hanger and you’ll be dying to get your hands on the next book.

Actually, if you’re into the series before reading this, you’ll probably really enjoy this sequel. Everything was much of the same quality as the first book. You’ll speed through it, enjoying it like you did the first time. And when the next book comes out, you’ll probably like that too.

But for me, the Wolves of Mercy Falls saga ends here. I’ll Wikipedia the end when the last one comes out because I’m not about to waste my time reading it. It just comes down to this, point blank, I do not care about the characters. I wasn’t that into them in the first one. I’m not into them now. I’ve heard this story of paranormal romance before. The straights that seem so dire for these characters are not gripping me. This book is average.

And so, I’m moving. Sam, Grace, Cole and Isabel: this is where we part. Thanks for the time, but we’re breaking up. Sorry, but what can I say? Only the truth, then: I’m just not that into you. And that’s that.

Ri’s Rating:

QQ.5/ QQQQQ

2.5/ 5


0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Stacey

     /  August 8, 2010

    Totally Agree. I also didn’t really enjoy Shiver and, quite frankly, Linger wasn’t much better. Was there even any point to the first three hundred odd pages? I mean what happened? This is probably just my own personal taste also but I just found Stiefvater’s writing irritating. She can write well but she cannot tell a story. I felt that she was far too occupied with trying to create unique three dimensional characters than actually taking the time to craft a story that compels you to read on and see what happens. The series is just so disappointing and I really don’t mean to offend anyone but do the books really deserve to be on bestsellers’ lists? Personally, I don’t think so.

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  August 8, 2010

      so, so, so true. especially what you said about the characters– there were too many people trying to squish into one tiny story and i lost interest in all of them.

      Reply

Speak thy mind

