Chocolat Book Review

when Vianne announces a Grand Festival of Chocolate commencing Easter Sunday, it’s all-out war: war between church and chocolate, between good and evil, between love and dogma.

–Amazon Book Description

Chocolat by Joanne Harris

 

I’m sure most people have heard of this book. But here’s a summary anyways.

Beautiful chocolatier Vianne Rocher moves into a small town in France, where the people are all kept safe from sin by the watchful eye of the local priest. However, when Vianne opens a chocolate shop and invites the townsfolk to indulge, things start to change– for better and worse. Through the course of the story, we get to know Vianne, through her curious past, and through the unique way she has of interacting with people, bringing out the best in some and the worst in others.

I started off reading this book and I was kept interested. It’s a quiet tale, well-written with lots of culture and quirks for any person to take delight in. The characters are interesting and the story flows quite nicely. There are lots of people that you get to know and some that I got rather attached to through the course of the story.

 This book was about people– their interactions with one another, the way they can make each other feel, or use each other. It was a simple examination of humans, but a good story at the same time. Much like a certain movie (the Breakfast Club!).

However, one person in the book that really got me ticked off was none other than the main character Vianne. I didn’t like her morals at certain points in the story. I didn’t like the way she ( Mild Spoiler!) slept with a guy and then handed him off to her friend.

 I liked her vivacity for life and the way she treated the others in the story, the way she worked out their stories from wherever they were hiding them. But I didn’t like her story. She was gloomy and depressing whenever she was on her own. She dwelled too much on things I felt she should have just gotten over. She kept making useless promises with herself and breaking them. And I didn’t like what she did at the end of the book.

Despite my dislike for Vianne, she didn’t ruin the story. It was still really good. All the praise I gave it earlier is in no way lessened by this character: she didn’t appeal to me but that doesn’t mean she was badly developed or one of those annoying types.

My final thoughts (for one of my shortest reviews ever!) are read this book if you’re looking for something nice and quiet and easily digestible. I won’t say that this story took me anywhere new and exciting, but it was still a nice piece of the world to visit.

Ri’s Rating:

QQQ/QQQQQ

3/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

