How to Train Your Dragon Movie Review

Ever since I saw the first commercial for this movie, I was expecting greatness. And greatness was delivered.

When I really enjoy a movie, I don’t like to go into detail about it because I like for others to experience the awesome on their own. So, here goes…

This movie, essentially about a boy and his dragon, was a well thought out tale that was surprisingly deep and totally enjoyable. The movie starts off in the middle of a dragon raid– quite dramatic– and never dips from there. The acting is good, the plot is very nice, and the animation was astounding. There is so much detail, I can’t even think about what it was like before animation was this good. The hair

on people’s arms, the fur of their outfits, it was all there. I also really loved the character designs. They were unique, I think. Like Hiccup’s smile– so funny, so perfect.

The flying scenes were stunning and the fighting scenes were intense. The script was good and actually deep; Dreamworks obviously wasn’t afraid of “scaring” children and I love that. I absolutely love it when movie studios take risk with children’s movies– and when they come out as good as this. Some parts brought up some questions that we, in our world of warfare, often have to ask ourselves.

The bonding between Hiccup and his dragon was special. It was sweet and funny and well-timed, never rushed. Night Fury (the dragon) was adorable. Everyone in the theatre was going “aww” along with me. For a kid’s movie, the relationship between Hiccup and his dragon (and also between Hiccup and his father) carry a very important message, that you just cannot judge people without knowing them, that there is always more to a story and that sometimes you may be on the wrong side, even if what you are doing seems right.

 Man alive, this was fantastic.

You know, the movie is nearly two hours long, but it sure didn’t feel that way.

This review is so badly put, but the movie was so good, like I said, I really just want people to experience it for themselves. Before I finish, I just want to say that the ending was amazing. Just– amazing. They took a risk, Dreamworks did, and it added a level of depth to the movie, because in real life people do have to pay for other’s mistakes. Wondering exactly what I mean by that? Well you know how to find out.

And I guarantee, you will not be disappointed.

4/5

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

