The Last Olympian Book Review

All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds are against them. Kronos is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, his power only grows.

–front flap

Other books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series: Book 1, Book 2, Book 3, Book 4, Book 5

Book Five: The Last Olympian

By Rick Riordan

This is the final book in the Percy Jackson series, and by far and away my favorite. It ends all the drama that has been building up the in the past four books. Kronos’s army is ready to attack; the monster Typhon has been released and is wrecking havoc across the Untied States. Deep down, Percy Jackson knows that he and his demigod friends barely stand a chance, especially when everything is balanced precariously on the greatest prophecy to be made in the last century, one that will decide the fate of the gods, and the world.

That’s about as much as I’m going to give away here because you should only be reading this if you’ve read the others and if you’ve read the others, then I think you know what to expect.

And let me tell you, I expected a lot and I was not let down.

It has everything I was looking for: plot, drama, characters, action, a good evil to good guy death ratio, and a satisfying but not cheesy ending. I admit, that’s a lot to have. Most series fail. But Jackson managed to pass, with flying colors no less.

Percy Jackson has grown into my favorite male hero, of any story, ever. As ever, in this final book, he’s funny, romantic, dramatic, exasperated, sarcastic, brave, everything. He’s real character to me, flawed but perfect. Riordan, like Rowling, has done a great job of making Percy grow up into a hero throughout the series.

The other main characters don’t lose their stuff either. I was surprised to see how old friendships and loyalties played out and I think most readers will be too.

This book has some of the best action scenes ever. Percy pulls some seriously wicked moves. It’s a little ridiculous, actually, that he gets to be so cool. At one point, he’s fighting off a bunch of soldiers and Riptide, his sword, is described as (not an exact quote here) an “arc of  pure destruction.” Wicked.

In terms of plot, I would say that Riordan pulled everything together rather nicely. There was the big battles I was looking forward to, the quiet scenes, the dramatic choices, all that jazz. There were some surprises, as I mentioned earlier, and some things that I called, which always makes me happy.

Looking back, I can only think of two bad parts. First, there is a chapter or two (which I won’t name because I fear they might give something away) in the middle of the book that I could have lived without. One is a battle scene that is interesting the first time around but on reading it again, wasn’t totally necessary. It’s a bother, but it doesn’t ruin anything.

Similarly, my second issue was that a couple of the instruments used to manipulate the plot were kind of jerkily placed, and although they didn’t ruin the story, it maybe could have been a bit smoother. For example, we find out early on in the book that Grover has been missing for some time. But Percy doesn’t really mention that until someone else brings it up, and you think that having your best friend missing would’ve been bigger on your list of things to say, but that’s just me.

As a series ender, I think Riordan did a fantastic job balancing the necessary cheesiness with the good stuff. For instance, Percy falls in love, so of course there’s a cute little scene in there with the girl of his choice. Cheesy, but we readers sucked it up. And then, there’s the good stuff, like when Percy creates his own personal hurricane to destroy a titan with. Good stuff.

The final chapters managed to keep things from getting to…passive. What I mean by that is Riordan didn’t just have Percy give me the run down on everything that happened after the big battle. No wrap ups and we all lived happily ever after kind of stuff.  We lived all the important moments, got to experience everything. And by keeping things current, it kept the story fresh and interesting.

And you know what was really good about this? That some of the good guys died. I won’t say who, just that some do. Which is important because it keeps things real. Good guys, bad guys, traitors, and in-betweeners—everyone takes a hit and it comes off great.

I think I’ve rambled on long enough, so let me just wrap things up. Percy Jackson is one of my favorite book series. It’s exciting and fresh. It takes old concepts, like Greek gods, and weaves them seamlessly into our world. The characters are fun, and Percy is an excellent narrator. Riordan has done a spot on job of tying things together in this final installment, managing to give me everything I was hoping for, and creating a story that I will never ever forget.

Amazon link.

Ri’s Rating:

QQQQ/QQQQQ
4/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The Lightning Thief Book Review « The Spotted Mushroom
  2. The Battle of the Labyrinth Book Review « The Spotted Mushroom

Speak thy mind

