The Day of the Scarab Book Review

Madness reigns in the Two Lands. General Argelin has proclaimed himself king and is systematically destroying all enemies — humans . . . and gods.

–Amazon Book Description

Sequel to: The Oracle Betrayed

The Day of the Scarab by Catherine Fisher

 

 

The Day of the Scarab is the last book in the Oracle series. It continues the story of Mirany, Seth, the Archon Alexos, and Oblek with a score of new and minor characters (that become major) thrown in as well. Argelin, the general of the land, has killed his beloved and will do anything to get her back. Not only that, but he has decided to wage war on the Gods and even challenges death itself. To stop him, Mirany and her friends (and even her enemies) must face a whole new set of challenges. But little do they know that Argelin is the least of their problems.

This was the book that actually drew me into the series. Many years ago, I was in a local (and very dear to my heart) bookstore when I saw it. I think it had just come out back then and I thought, “Looks like fun,” but when I realized it was the third in the series, I backed off because I didn’t have enough money to buy them all and I had come to get a instant-gratification reading indulgence for myself.

Anyways, after reading the Oracle Betrayed (whose review you can find here) I found myself unwilling to leave the Greek-Egyptian world that Fisher had created because I love that place and the time period so much and I rarely find books set there. So, I placed this one on hold and here’s what I thought:

First, this book was a lot of action. Fast paced and go-go-go right until the end. However, to keep that suspense up, Fisher would break the chapters up and switch directions (talk about Mirany for a while, then at the height of the action, switch over to Seth) which was good, but got a little choppy especially towards the end where a lot of things start happening. Also, sometimes she would switch at a crucial moment for one character to a blah-I-don’t-care-about-you character which would slow the story down and make the exciting scenes less dramatic.

Fisher doesn’t take as long to get to the good writing in this book and she has some killer lines in there that I really liked. However, there were some parts that were really confusing, although I must partially contribute that to my inability to slow down and take the book in thoroughly. Still, there were some things that she built up but never really followed through with (at one point, the priestess must fight, but they end up just standing there).

This happened a lot towards the end of the book, where battles and intrigue and drama were whizzing about the pages. People would cry for justice and make lots of pomp, but then something a little to convenient would happen and it would all fall flat. For example, there is a witch in the book, Manto, and she seems pretty wicked and evil, but then in the end, she can of gives up and I thought that was kind of lame.

Other than that, there was a wickedly confusing part involving a chariot, but I think I skipped a page or something. If not, that part was totally out of whack.

There are a lot of characters in this book which isn’t bad but it does mean that Fisher is spreading herself rather thin and there were some characters who I just didn’t care for and didn’t want to read about, but she had them in there in crucial spots so I had to put up with them.

The biggest gripe I had with this book is that Fisher was hinting at a romance between Seth and Mirany, and they never even kissed. I was strung along! I feel cheated. I mean, considering what Fisher had Seth do earlier on in the book, you think at least holding the girl he likes hand wouldn’t be a probably but noooo.

Even though I’ve spent most of this review complaining about things, I cannot say that this book didn’t have me reading all day. I was totally enthralled. I won’t lie. And the end was pretty satisfying. It has that promise of things yet to come that I was talking about many days ago.

So all in all, I recommend this book, for folks sixth grade and up especially as I think the writing style and fast pace will really appeal to younger teens. However, older people should get a kick out of it too. Just not sticklers. They won’t like it at all.

It was fun and exciting and a good end to a series.

(P.S I skipped the second book in this series and was able to make complete sense out of the third one, so you are under no obligation to read the second, but go ahead if you really like the series).

Aamazon link

Ri’s Rating:

QQQ/QQQQQ

3/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

