The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Book Review

I was born with water on the brain.

Okay, so that’s not exactly true.

–pg 1

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

My mother bought be this book while on vacation. She insisted that I would enjoy it. But I had bigger and better things to read, so I shoved it aside until last week Thursday, when I found myself without anything to do. I saw it lying innocently on my shelf and I picked it up and read it. It took me about three hours– I managed to surprise myself there. Anyways, it was not too bad and after I read it I wrote down a couple of thoughts I had on it because I knew my laziness would hold out long after my memory. This may be the shortest review yet! I’m excited to see whether or not I can keep this bad boy concise. And now, onto the review!

Junior is our fellow, the main man of the book and the story teller. He is a self-proclaimed cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian reservation. Life’s been tough for Junior since the moment he was born– he’s got a bunch of medical problems, his dad has a drinking problem, his best friend has an anger problem, and he’ s got tough-choice problems. But Junior’s a trooper and he’s going to get the best education he can– even if that means going to school in the white, racist town beyond the borders of the rez. This book is the story of Junior’s troubles and the unique solutions he finds to help him get through life.

This book had good pacing and a good plot. Junior was a fresh character with an awful lot of insight and a unique voice. His troubles were interesting and really opened up my eyes. The writing was humorous and easy to read. As it’s a slice-of-life I don’t have much more to say about it than that. It’s just some quality stuff.

The book had a good message, too. It came to me as strongly as it came to Junior. The negative effects that alcohol can have on a community were shown very well, and had a very real base. However, one must keep in mind that the story was fictional and just because Junior’s rez had a problem doesn’t mean that every Native American you meet will be a drunk.

The book was not at all a diary. It wasn’t even a journal. That title was a lie, I suppose; it was just Junior’s story told like any other novel. Still, I enjoyed it more because I don’t particularly like diary books.

The only downside about this book was that it had these drawings in it which I think were awful just because they seemed like they were trying to be funny and they failed epically at that. They just didn’t appeal to me. However, they weren’t too frequent and don’t distract from the story.

Well, I guess that’s all I have to say (I told you this review would be short). I liked the book as a whole and would recommend it to anyone who is willing to step out of their comfort zones and join Junior in his struggle to find his place in the world.

PS: due to some subject matter, I would rate this book at a 14+ reading level.

 

Ri’s Rating:

QQQ.5/ QQQQQ

3.5/ 5


0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

