Sweethearts Book Review

[Another review= good. And I did some writing= better]

Sweethearts by Sara Zarr

 

 

You know what bothers me? When people spell Sarah without an h. I mean, why do they do that? Oh well. Who cares (apart from me).

Sweethearts was a book about to best friends. There is Jennifer and Cameron, two outcasts, that as young children, bonded because neither of them fit in. Jennifer has only a mother who is working and studying to be a nurse, so you can imagine that young Jenn is left alone a lot. But she’s okay with that because during school (and sometimes after) she gets to hang out with Cameron who is her protector from bullies (she’s fat, so you can imagine how mean kids were) and her best friend. As Jennifer says in the book, Cameron made her feel loved and cared for and protected.

But then Cameron disappears and the kids at school tell Jennifer that he is dead, and she believes it after telling the story to her mother, who doesn’t say anything against it. Startled by losing her best friend, Jennifer transforms into Jenna, a popular pretty girl with a boyfriend and a loving step dad and mom. Her best friend is buried, along with her former fat self. 

Then, one day, Cameron randomly leaves a note in Jenna’s mailbox and her life gets turned upside down.

This book is short, it only took me about four or five hours (maybe even less) to read. And it is interesting, but the ending felt unfinished. It didn’t really wrap the story up, it just kind of left me wondering in so what happened to them? kind of way, which wasn’t particularly enjoyable.

Sweethearts moved quickly, and the pacing of the plot was nice. Zarr also puts in pieces of Jenna’s past, which is done tactfully. But somehow, the book seemed to short. Like I said earlier, it seemed like it needed more closure at the end, whether it be happy, or sad, it just left me hanging. And she adopted a bit of a passive voice towards the end, which a lot of author accidentally end up doing. I wish she had told me for sure what happened with Cameron, even if she just left a clue of some kind. Or maybe she did and I just couldn’t pick up on it.

The characters were good, Cameron especially. The main character, Jenna, from whose point of view the story is told, was alright, not great or anything. The thing that bothered me the most was that she had a habit of stealing candy and she never even mentioned feeling remorseful about it. I understand that it was something she started when she was little and insecure, but it bothered me that it didn’t bother her. Then again, I already know stealing is wrong and people reading this book too should as well, so I suppose it doesn’t make a difference that Jenna lacks that moral value. It’s not like that was teaching me to do wrong.

Another thing that kind of bothered me with this book was that Jenna was doing something with her boyfriend, but it was written so vaguely I had no idea at all what it was, which kind of made it hard for me to judge Jenna. Because if what she was doing was in the least x-rated then it made her a insecure person who settles of less because she’s scared of getting worse, which would fit with her character. But if she wasn’t doing those kinds of things, well then I don’t know what she is. I’m not saying I wanted to read something explicit, it’s just that it wasn’t very clear which made her relationship confusing…and weird since they’d only been dating for three months and she didn’t even like him.

All in all, this book was just ok. Didn’t bring me anywhere new, and it didn’t really deliver the umph that it was building up for in the flashback scenes. In fact, the umph was lacking in a lot of places.

So my final word? Not really worth your time. It had potential but it didn’t rise up to meet the challenge. It seemed to me that the author was afraid to shock. And the ending was too unended.

 

amazon link!!!

Ri’s rating:

QQ/QQQQQ

2/5

 

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sara

     /  August 16, 2011

    It bothers me when people spell Sara with an h at the end. But I may be a little biased, since my name is Sara. =)

    Anywho, the links for Magic Under Glass and Eternal both bring me to this link. Just thought you’d like to know.

    Reply

Speak thy mind

