Second Helpings Book Review

Jessica Darling is up in arms again in this much-anticipated, hilarious sequel to Sloppy Firsts. This time, the hyperobservant, angst-ridden teenager is going through the social and emotional ordeal of her senior year at Pineville High.

-Amazon Book Description

Sequel to: Sloppy Firsts

Second Helpings by Megan Mccafferty

Remember back in the day when I kept my promises?

Ha. As if I was ever a child of her word.

Well, I am, normally, but this time it seems not.

Remember how I said I wouldn’t be reading the next book in the Jessica Darling Saga after reading the first, Sloppy Firsts? Well, let’s just end that charade right here because I succumbed: the end was such cliffhanger (or was too subtle for me to pick up on as I realized after reading the beginning of this one) that I had to read the second. I might not read the third. Hard to say.

Why? Well, first  a recap of this one:

More Jessica drama, and some funny stuff too. Again, I was enticed because she is such a smart heroine. You don’t see much of that these days. Anyways, Jessica doesn’t go out with Marcus Flutie (did I even mention him in the last review…I don’t think I did. But just to let you know, he was the “bad boy” from the last book, who lied his way into her life. He’s an interesting character.) like you expect her to. In fact, she starts dating Len Levy, who seriously ticked me off.

And there’s some of the regular drama–which I guess is why I put up with it, and because it offers me the gossip my social life fails to provide, which reminds me, that’s another reason why I like these books: because it has all the drama I want, told from the point of view of a character just like me.

And then in the end the inevitable happens (which I won’t say, not to ruin the drama).

Well, look at that. I gave an entirely vague summary, filled more with parentheses than actual story stuff. Ah well.

Anyways, this book was much of the same, but much of the same good stuff from the last one. It wasn’t repetitive, but it also failed to wrap up the ending. However, I certainly will not  be reading the third one. I just won’t put myself through more of the same. I mean, this book was funny but not that worth it.

So should you read it?

Sure, why not. It’s not gonna kill you and I liked it. It’s a boredom buster book. Or a procrastination book. Or whatever you need it to be. I don’t even think you’d have to read the first one to understand this. It’s just a funny little time-filler.

Ri’s Rating:

QQ.5/QQQQQ

2.5/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induiced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.