Good Omens Book Review

The world will end on Saturday. Next Saturday. Just before dinner, according to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies written in 1655.

–Amazon Book Description

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

This was a very funny book.

I usually takes a lot for a book to make me laugh, but this one had me chuckling every other page and dying at other times.

It’s kind a hard book the write a summary on. In short, a demon and an angel have become “friends” after knowing each other for so long, and they have both come to enjoy living and working in the human world. So when the demon is commissioned by Satan to bring about the end of the world (apocalypse) by raising the Antichrist, Crowley, the demon, is a little hesitant. He chats with Aziraphale (the angel) and they decided that Crowley will tempt the Antichrist and bring him up evil, thus doing his job, and Aziraphale will do right by showing the Antichrist the right path. This plan is brilliant, until they come to realize that someone has misplaced the Antichrist. And that’s where the story begins.

Now, you really only have to have a very basic understanding of Christian relgion to get this book. And you have to like Britian, because that’s where it takes place. Other than that, have a sense of humor and you’re set to go.

This book has a lot of funny random pieces, very quirky writing and not a cliche in sight (yes!).

It may seem a little bit confusing at first, but keep going, and read every page after the foreword because it’s all funny. Even the bits about the authors in the back.

A part of  a book that really tends to irk me is the end because most of the time people tend to want to wrap it up with very passive phrases and a happily ever after. Well, this book was kind of long towards the end and I kind of wish that it had been sewn together a bit better, but it was still satisfying I guess. Just…they never hit the dramatic climax that they built up.

I’d say this is a book for teens and adults, due to some of the content. Also, as you read it, if you are particularly religious, don’t be upset about their views. It’s like reading somebody’s article in the paper: you don’t have to agree, but you can still read it for what it is.

So, my words of advice: read it. Laugh. Smile. (You’ll fall in love with Adam, I swear you will. You’ll wish you had one). Cry if you must, but get through this book. It won’t take long.(It took me about a three days, even though it’s not large, I was doing other things which slowed me down.)

And trust me, the apocalypse has NEVER been funnier.

Ri’s rating:

QQQ/QQQQQ

3/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induiced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Speak thy mind

