Willow Book Review

Seven months ago, on a rainy March night, sixteen-year- old Willow’s parents drank too much wine and asked her to drive them home. They never made it – Willow lost control of the car and her parents died in the accident.

-Amazon Book Description

Willow by Julia Hoban

So this is my first ever book review on this blog. Judge me not.

This book captivated me.

Willow is this girl who was driving one night, with her parents in the back seat, and then BAM! the car crashes and her whole life changes. Now, Willow is living with her brother and his wife and their child. The family is pretty poor and they’re falling on some tough times. Willow is emotionally distant from everyone around her and is haunted by the night of the car crash. To deal with the pain, she begins to cut herself. And that becomes her secret, until one day, a guy named (check this out) Guy comes into her life, and once again everything gets turned upside down. Because the first time she meets Guy, he discovers her secret and once somebody knows, there’s no turning back.

This story had me caught from the first chapter, because not only was it about a girl who cuts herself, but a girl who inflicts pain so that she can stop feeling pain. I couldn’t figure out why she would do this, yet somehow, I could see it from Willow’s point of view and it made sense. Cutting herself made her aware that she could control her physical pain in a way that she couldn’t control her emotions.

At times, listening to Willow blame herself would get a little dull and repetitive, but then she’d start wanting to hurt herself and I’d start feeling anxious, because I didn’t want her to hurt. I wanted her to be okay.

This book is a love story, for any romance lovers out there, but it wasn’t something cheesy and highschoolish and silly. The romance moved at a very reasonable pace with a nice go0d chunk of time for the characters to change and develop into to people with whom love made sense, because when the book begins, there is no way Willow is strong enough to have someone love her. By the end…

One thing that threw me when I was reading it was that it was written in third person, but in present tense. So, it reads like this: Willow sighs and gets up. She hates leaving things like this, but she has no choice.

It’s a little strange at first, since that style is really only used in first person, but after the first few pages, you don’t really notice it.

I especially loved how this book allowed me to understand Willow and her reasons why, without huge page long explanations and rambling. Also, she has a very clear voice that makes her seem very real and believable.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants a down to earth, sweet and startling romance. None of that messed up cheesy vampire crap. Just someone who is a little lost and needs to be found.

Ri’s Rating:

 QQ.5/ QQQQQ

2.5/5

0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induiced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

link to amazon page  (so you can read other reviews, ect)

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Fish. I might actually read this book. Although slow parts and no sword fights don’t exactly captivate me.

    Reply

Speak thy mind

