Divergent Book Review

One choice can transform you

-Book Description

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Hey. So. It’s been a while. But in that while I have read so many books that I will more than make up for my absence, starting with this bad boy right here.

I’ve heard rumors that this film has already been optioned for a movie, and I can see why. The plot is simple, but engaging: it’s futuristic world. In this city, people live with in factions; each faction values something different (courage, wisdom, etc). When you are sixteen, you get sorted into a faction. Then each faction has you go through an initiation process. If you fail the process, you are factionless and akin to an untouchable.

Our main character comes from Abnegation, which are selfless people. She finds her life enjoyable, but a little dull. So when she discovers that she belongs to no faction (she isn’t sorted) she chooses Dauntless as she admires their daredevil behaviour and bravery. But the initiation process for Dauntless is brutal, and she comes out of it realizing that the factions have ripped society apart, and that maybe people shouldn’t be just one thing. Why can’t I be Dauntless and Abnegation, she questions.

I wondered the same thing too. I could understand the benefits of this society (selfless leaders, super intelligent doctors) but it didn’t seem plausible. I mean, what would have brought this on? A strong dystopia has a good back story, but this one was lacking.

However, it’s got tons of action. So much. I don’t even know how to deal with it. I mean, if you thought Hunger Games had a lot going on, you were wrong. Because mostly, Katniss sits in a cave. Here, Tris is all over the place, all the time. Something is always happening, and even when things slow down, her mind is jittery enough that you don’t feel it.

Which is why I say that this book was made to be a movie. The writing was blunt, as is the style today, and though basic, I thought it suited the sparse Dauntless lifestyle. It flows just like a movie, like Harry Potter, or Transformers. You’re quickly introduced to the characters, their enemies, their friends, their lifestyle. The brunt of it is spent exploring the new world, and building a mystery. The end is a climax, with action, a villain, and a hint of a sequel.

I’m not going to lie: I enjoyed this book.

I wouldn’t call it the pinnacle of character development, the most original tale, or anything. It was simple, in a good way. Sure it followed a lot of the natural dystopian tropes, but it did have me questioning what I would do in Tris’ shoes. I’m not sure I could have handled Dauntless initiation. It’s a little to brutal for me. At the same time though, I’m not sure I would want to be in any other faction.

I am loath to say this, but there is a romance here. It’s nice, definitely useful in terms of plot, sometimes a little predictable. But I didn’t really want to mention it because besides that, this book is pretty gender neutral and I would like for men to give it a chance. Be brave, boys.

So, kids. If you’re looking for a fun dystopian read and feel like investing a series that I think is definitely going somewhere, here it is: Divergent. The sequel should be out soon, so don’t worry too much if you end up liking it like, a lot. I suspect quite a few people will.

Ri’s Rating:

QQQ/QQQQQ
3/5


0. Couldn’t get past chapter one for fear of wanting to kill myself. Book induced suicide…

1: Yuck. Ew. Below Average. Probably didn’t even read the middle and skipped to the end.

2. Ok. Would’ve been better if I’d written the ending and everything else.

3. Not bad at all. Very enjoyable. Quite nice. Recommendable.

4. My kind of book. Near ideal, but something was a little off (annoying names, bad ending, that sort of thing).

5. WOW. Makes me wonder why people watch T.V when this is out there. Really liked it. Don’t expect to see this often.

6 and above. What I want my book to be.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This book was lying around on a window ledge in my school for a while. :D Maybe I’ll read it.

    Reply
  2. Jennifer

     /  July 1, 2012

    This was an awesome book, I loved it. I just brought the second book and can’t wait to read it. Tris rules!!!

    Reply
    • Ri

       /  July 2, 2012

      Hi! Thanks for commenting :) Definitely share how the second book was. Worth reading?

      Reply

Speak thy mind

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers